Chuck Prophet’s new album/film

2 09 2009

by Nick Jones (@NickJones82)

Photobucket

I spent 35 minutes and a couple beers with Chuck Prophet a few years ago in Park City, UT during the Sundance Film Festival. I planned on a 10 minute interview with the singer/songwriter, but what I got was a two-way discussion on art on politics, songwriting, music making and of course Bob Dylan. My favorite quote from Prophet that night was, “You go to the other side of the world, pick up a shovel, dig as deep as you can, pull something out you think you own and find out Dylan’s already been there”

Prophet has a new album “Let Freedom Ring” due out October 27th on Yep Roc. The album is about the “contradictions of American life during the recession, having been through a boom we didn’t even know about. He decided to gain some perspective by recording it outside of the US, and liked the frenetic energy of Mexico City.”

Chuck also took a camera crew with him to Mexico City. I’m stoked for this film. Check out the trailer after the jump…

Actions

Information

7 responses

6 09 2009
Bill Bartmann Scam

Great site…keep up the good work.

8 09 2009
Bill Bartmann Scam?

Cool site, love the info.

11 09 2009
Bill Bartmann_

I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work

14 09 2009
Bill Bartmann

Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

A definite great read…

-Bill-Bartmann

16 09 2009
Bill Bartmann

Great site…keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

A definite great read…:)

-Bill-Bartmann

29 09 2009
Kelli Garner

Really nice posts. I will be checking back here regularly.

11 01 2010
online stock trading advice

Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

