Bri Blahg… Music News Round Up: Tuesday August 25, 2009

25 08 2009

by Brian Phillips (@BrianBlahg)

arctic_monkeys

Arctic Monkeys "Humbug"

As I write today I’ve fired up the new Arctic Monkeys record “Humbug” . Taking a quick peek at the Amazon reviews I’d say some are put off by their new, more downcast and heavier direction. I like the first track “My Propeller.” Slower, but still with some good groove. Maybe I dig it more than their old stuff because I’m not very good “On The Dance Floor.”

The LA County Coroner has ruled Michael Jackson’s death a homicide. It seems this doctor was bound and determined to get Jacko to go to sleep one way or another. I know we’d like to believe doctors always have our best interests at heart, and usually they do. My grandmother had a Doctor Feelgood. He kept her in pills even after she overdosed several times. Eventually he went down for doing this to multiple patients.

Memphis Bleek is set to drop album five.

Ted Leo was prevented from crossing into Canada to open so Pearl Jam made it work with a covers set. Let that be a lesson. Be on time for the support act.

Muse are streaming clips from “The Resistance” online. We’ll see how the band manages having lightning rod Glen Beck as a fan.

Steven Tyler of Aerosmith tells Rolling Stone he’s on all the drugs he’s not supposed to be on after his tumble from a stage at The Giant Buffalo Chip or whatever they call the Sturgis Bike Rally. It has not been a good year for the band.

I’m on track three of the Arctic Monkeys record now. It’s a little…. “samey” yeah. If I were a suit from the label I might say “boys I don’t hear a hit.” I like the production though. Very stripped down.

Kyp Malone of TV On The Radio has a side project. Brooklyn Vegan has more including a download I’m confident they are allowed to post. If not don’t look at me.

Being an annoying music snob, I assumed only I knew about this guy. Chris Bell was in Big Star early on, then split, recorded some solo stuff and died in a 1978 car accident. Many years later Rykodisc collected those songs and some Big Star demos and issued I Am The Cosmos. It’s a lovely record. Now I see Pete Yorn and Scarlett Johansson have covered the title song. I want to believe Scarlett is really this cool.

Glad to see on Stereogum that Lou Barlow is ready with a new solo album. Calling his solo debut Emoh was hilarious. It’s a great record, even his bizarre take on Ratt’s “Round And Round.” I look forward to hearing the new one. Hopefully Lou is done with Dinosaur Jr. and will make a new Sebadoh album at some point too.

Hmm…. I’m seven tracks deep on Arctic Monkeys now. Calling the album “Humbug” was the right way to go. It’s a bit forlorn and kind of blah on first pass.

Oh God, they’ve put Kurt Kobain in Guitar Hero 5. I did a google search and, as I suspected, everyone blames Courtney Hole. The world makes more sense that way.

Who are the other guys in his Guitar Hero band? They look like Good Charlotte roadies.

“Dance Little Liar” by Arctic Monkeys now playing. I can’t dance to this either. It’s not a terrible album, just a bit bland on first pass. Me thinks it ain’t gonna go over well.

And finally… She had a couple of old school rap hits, and parlayed that into an Ivy League Doctorate.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

