Bri Blahg… Music News Round Up Thursday August 20

20 08 2009

by Brian Phillips (@BrianBlahg)

As I write I’ve fired up Jay Reatard’s “Watch Me Fall” album. It’s not bad. The faux British accent is a little annoying, but that’s just nitpicking. He’s been listening to a lot of Wire I believe. Not a world changing record, but it’s good clean fun. Strongest track may be the last one “There Is No Sun,” a slab of sad eyed, chime-y power pop. And on now to the news of the day:

Super group Them Crooked Vultures have leaked some studio footage. It’s nigh impossible these days to maintain the mystery in any project, but it seems they’ve done a good job in this case.

Meanwhile Stereogum reports on their second ever live appearance.

U2 say the upcoming 25th Anniversary Edition of “The Unforgettable Fire” will include a heap of unheard out takes. I remember when that album came out. After the flag waving intensity of the break through record “War,” fans weren’t sure what to make of “Fire.” It is a sonically weird album, but has aged very well for me anyway.

Karen O of The Yeah Yeah Yeahs is stepping out for soundtrack work for director Spike Jonze.

At Lollapalooza I ran into Michael Angelakos of Passion Pit. Since I saw the band at Bonnaroo he told me he’s emerged from behind the keys and is just singing now. Blast it, I was stuck in the press area during their set waiting for Dan Deacon (who never showed). More chances coming to see the band though with their just announced tour dates. I wish them all the best, they really are on to something and about the nicest people you’ll hope to meet.

I finished the Jay Reatard record now. I don’t know how he recorded it, but it sounds a bit “pro toolsy” to me. I’d like him to play live in the studio with a band. I’ve fired up Brendan Benson’s new solo record. Very power pop and I mean that as a high compliment. If you’re familiar with Jason Falkner’s spiffy solo work, than you’ll feel right at home with Raconteur Benson.

New Order’s Bernard Sumner has a new band. For Sumner Bad Lieutenant’s sound is a decided shift from New Order’s post punk disco, and Joy Division’s overcoat doom. “Sink Or Swim” is the first track. It’s very airy indie pop. Just because Joy Division were bloody brilliant here’s their first known TV appearance. Young Sumner is on guitar. Dig those pedestals and cheap effects:

It seems the new Lips album has guests.

Given the fussiness by which Portishead make records, I approach this side project with interest. Beak will be different. Don’t get me wrong, I dig Portishead, I just wish they were a bit more prolific.

Daughtry’s music may be a turgid pile, but he’s no dummy. His just announced arena tour is larded with mid and small market stops. At first glance it appears the largest city on the tour is San Antonio. Kiss pioneered this strategy back in the 70’s and it helped make them super stars.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

