Bri Blahg… Lollapalooza Late Saturday… Tool Endurance.

9 08 2009

by Brian Phillips (@BrianBlahg)

Photobucket

Tool's Maynard James Keenan (courtesy David Mann/Billboard.com)

“Have fun at Tool,”  said Nick Jones as I departed Palestra Music’s well appointed headquarters at the Hilton. I don’t think Nick has ever attended a Tool performance. Tool is not to be enjoyed. Tool is to be endured. I’m not writing this in a lame attempt to be contrarian, or controversial. Tool needs to be called out. Maynard hides in the back, the band is lit so you can’t see them, they show alien sand people penis surgery videos, they release an album every 20 years, they have 11 songs, and they book themselves at festivals when they’re looking for a big fat paycheck. I’m not detecting much artistic growth here.

To be fair I’m not quite sure what I’m looking for from Tool. Checking out their Saturday night set I could tell that thousands attended Lollapalooza just to see them. Tool shirts were everywhere. (Remember PCU people? Don’t be that guy!) I get why people dig them. Tool type heaviness is very satisfying on it’s own merits. I guess the whole willfully obscure shtick is wearing a bit thin on me. It seems contrived at this point.

Actions

Information

One response

10 08 2009
Bri Blahg… Giant Heat Stroked Lollapalooza Wrap Up « 2009 Festival Season

[…] crowd and warmed up thousands of Tool shirt wearing sweaty people. Tool on the other hand? I got what I expected. Saturday Bands I Wanted To See But Couldn’t […]

Leave a Reply

