APW Day 2: St. Vincent covers Beatles, Tool fans flick off My Bloody Valentine

2 08 2009

By Jillian Mapes (@jumonsmapes)

St. Vincent at All Points West; photo by Jillian Mapes

St. Vincent at All Points West; photo by Jillian Mapes

After day one of All Points West vomited rain and mud on me, I was taking all precautions before day two. Multiple pairs of socks? Check. Garbage bags? Check. Towel? Check. And did I need any of it? Nope.

Despite lugging around all that junk in the hot sun for 11 hours (and Saturday’s just OK line-up), I had more fun than hippies at a ‘Dead show. The day started with …Trail of Dead and the start of my painful sun burn. They’re very intense to watch and also halfway decent to dance to (which the woman standing in front of my proved by falling on her ass after shaking it a bit too hard).

After multiple Adrian Grenier (of TV’s “Entourage”) sightings before and during the Cool Kids’ performance, I hustled over to the comedy tent for Tim and Eric of “Tim & Eric’s Awesome Show, Great Job!” I’m generally a fan of the show, but the jokes seemed more immature and a little douche-y live, perhaps because it was just the two of them. I had a few hearty belly laughs, though, when they performed “I Sit Down When I Pee.” Plus, I fulfilled my crotch-bulge quota for the year. Score!

The rest of the day was a blur. The Arctic Monkeys joked on-stage about Tool (“How many of you are excited for Tool tonight?” lead singer Alex Turner asked) and played eerie new songs from the band’s upcoming release, “Humbug.” I danced very hard to the band’s first hit, “I Bet That You Look Good on The Dance Floor,” like I was a teenager again (side note: I sang this song over and over again the first time I was ever intoxicated). The Monkeys ended its set with latest single, “Crying Lightning,” and I was in heaven. That song is pure gold in all its dreamy guitar creepiness.

fans dance in the mud for Arctic Monkeys at All Points West; photo by Jillian Mapes

fans dance in the mud for Arctic Monkeys at All Points West; photo by Jillian Mapes

I ran over to the side stage just in time for St. Vincent, who is perhaps my biggest musical obsession of the year (and a big girl-crush). She blows me away every time, partially because of how impossibly fresh and impeccable she always looks. Highlight of her set was most certainly her cover of The Beatles’ “Dig a Pony,” which she played solo – just her and her spastic guitar. Perfection. (Ed note: girl seriously needs to eat more.)

Tim & Eric at All Points West; photo by Jillian Mapes

Tim & Eric at All Points West; photo by Jillian Mapes

I thoroughly enjoyed the twang the ever-folksy Neko Case brought along so much so that I danced among all the old people who came out to see her. Flash forward 45 minutes and I was practically asleep on the ground during My Bloody Valentine’s set. Ear-splitting shoegaze feedback is just not my bag, though I certainly wasn’t one of the angry Tool fans booing and flipping the bird at seemingly no one. Tool is certainly, certainly not my bag, and I got out of Liberty State Park as quickly as possible after snapping some pictures in the soggy, crowded photo pit.

SEE MORE PICS FROM ALL POINTS WEST DAY TWO BY CLICKING HERE.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

