Rain washes out TOD at the Waterfront

27 07 2009
Black Lips

Black Lips

By Jill Menze (@jillmenze)

Well, this’ll be brief, as I intended to waste several hundred words professing my love for one of my fav bands … And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, who was scheduled to perform at the Jelly NYC Pool Party at the Williamsburg Waterfront yesterday. But, thanks to some gasp-inducing lightening threatening New York, the show was called (so what, hundreds of people were hanging out by water with a bunch of metal poles in the area .. how is that not safe??). Bummer. Guess I’ll store up my energy for the band’s set at All Points West this weekend.

Don’t get me wrong, I was excited to see Black Lips and HEALTH leading up to Trail of Dead, and both groups proved worth the eight blocks or so I walked to get there. The percussion-heavy HEALTH was dominating and tribal-like, a good heavy mix that fittingly brought storm clouds over the park. Atlanta’s Black Lips was the usual shitshow — drunk concertgoers flooding the stage, the band playing on top of the crowd, apparently at one point a security guard got hit and the group was reprimanded but I think I missed that part. Fan favorites like “O Katrina!” and “Short Fuse” saw mad crowd surfing, while the lilting surfer-cool of songs like “Dirty Hands” put everyone more at ease.

Then, sigh, the rain came. But oh well, at least we have this weekend. And meanwhile, you can revisit our porchside chat with Trail of Dad at this year’s SXSW by clicking right here.

Actions

Information

One response

2 08 2009
My Bloody Valentine pulverizes All Points West day two « 2009 Festival Season

[…] time. Early up was Austin, Texas, rockers … And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, whom I missed last weekend at the Williamsburg Pool Party. Despite a full-on wipe out from the keyboardist, who fell on his back straight from the stage to […]

Leave a Reply

