Bri Blahg… Pitchfork Festival Preview

14 07 2009

by Brian Phillips (@BrianBlahg)

jesus_lizard

The Jesus Lizard

The Pitchfork Music Festival is this weekend at Chicago’s Union Park. As I write Saturday and Sunday are sold out, with just a scant smattering of tickets remaining for Friday.

Friday

The only reason I can think of for Friday not being clean is fear…. and for good reason. Malnourished hipsters can only foresee their own death at the hands of the reformed Jesus Lizard. There’s not a front man in music like David Yow. The manic Texan comes off like a Pentecostal preacher assigned to build a church in hell. The fact that they’re one of my favorite bands is not something I want to think about too much. On either side of the Lizard Friday on old people night is another fave of mine Yo La Tengo and the enigmatic Built To Spill. The way the schedule works out we should be able to see all three. Bully for us.

Saturday

The Dutchess And The Duke appear early in the afternoon with their 60’s pop, girl group folk taffy. I think you’ll find them agreeable.

I know Jay Reatard tweeted that The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart sucked, but I’ve always been an easy mark for lo-fi, sad, sensitive, journal keeping guitar pop. It ain’t easy being an occasional pussy, but I am who I am.

Saturday evening it’s decision time. At 8:30 The Black Lips will take the top of your head off I’m sure. They did mine at SXSW this year. Ten minutes later on The Aluminum Stage The National kick off a set that I hope will include some of the new material they’ve been working on. As great as their “Boxer” album was, I’m convinced the next one will be even better. I base that on nothing other than the growth they exhibited between “Alligator” and “Boxer.” Having already seen The Black Lips this year I’ll opt for The National this time around.

Saturday Bonus

For extra fun, find the coolest person you can at the Wavves show that afternoon and ask them who the band is. After they tell you it’s Wavves, tell them “Wavves are fucking awesome.” Make sure you look like a real dick too. I mean like take your shirt off, and put a Cubs hat on backwards first.

Sunday

If Coldplay were good, and Scottish, they’d be Frightened Rabbit. I love em and you will too.

The Walkmen once covered Harry Nilsson and John Lennon’s 1974 album “Pussy Cats.” I mean come on, who would do that. I’m sold.

Brooklyn’s Vivian Girls play late in the afternoon. Don’t confuse them with a Swiss band of the same name. That combo lists all the shows they’ve already played on their Myspace page. Why would you do that? Our Vivian Girls have songs like “Moped Girls” and they know a list of what shows they’ve already played means nothing. Freakin Swiss. God bless America.

And it goes without saying that you can’t leave without seeing The Flaming Lips. Their new double disc set “Embryonic” is coming this fall. A picture on their Myspace blog shows Wayne playing guitar. I’m in favor of Wayne playing guitar again. I also know to never miss The Flaming Lips.

Well there you have it. The economy may be in shambles, but yet another festival is teetering close to a total sell out. That’s something right.

Actions

Information

One response

25 07 2009
waiveaw

hmmm, great post

Leave a Reply

