The Swell Season’s “Strict Joy” due out September 29th

9 07 2009

by Nick Jones (@NickJones82)

The Swell Season’s follow up to the “Once” soundtrack is 12 new, original tunes written about the tumultuous time in there lives dealing with the success of the film and soundtrack. “Strict Joy” (which borrows it’s name from a work by Irish poet James Stephens) is due out on ANTI- (@AntiRecords) September 29th.

I missed the film when it was at Sundance 2007 (I’m lame), forgot about it (again, lame), but was lucky enough to have a few friends drag me to the Drexel in Columbus to see it before I really knew anything about it. It’s one of my favorite cinematic love stories, and the music written for the movie fills in perfectly.

The chemistry between Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova shines through on their previous recordings and I expect the same with “Strict Joy”. From what I’ve heard the two are no longer dating, but remain close friends. I’m most looking forward to hearing the stories of their unexpected, but well deserved success. The honesty of their live performances, and Glen’s storytelling fill between songs lets you into their world and allows you to feel a connection to the two of them and not just their music.

Members of Glen’s band The Frames are also featured on the record and The Swell Season will have another extensive US tour this Fall (no dates are currently announced).

Video of Glen talking about the success of “Once” at Bonnaroo 2008 and “Strict Joy” tracklisting after the jump…

1. Low Rising
2. Feeling the Pull
3. In These Arms
4. The Rain
5. Fantasy Man
6. Paper Cup
7. High Horses
8. The Verb
9. I Have Loved You Wrong
10. Love That Conquers
11. Two Tongues
12. Back Broke




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: